Cannes 2024: These are the winners of the film festival

die Cannes Film Festival Almost two weeks later on the evening of May 25 is over is gone At the closing ceremony, a panel of judges headed by director Greta Gerwig (40) awarded the coveted prizes. 22 films competed. A very important gift Golden palmHe won US-Director Sean Baker (53) for his film “Anora”, a wild, whirlwind romance between a glamorous dancer (Mikey Madison) and the super-rich son of a Russian oligarch (Mark Eidelstein). American filmmaker Terrence Malick, 80, last won the top prize at the Croquet in 2011 for “The Tree of Life.”

The winner dedicated her award to sex workers

“Anora” is Baker’s third film to be screened at Cannes, following “The Florida Project” and “Red Rocket.” The 53-year-old accepted the award from his colleague Francis Ford Coppola (85), who won the Palme d’Or twice and came away empty-handed this year for “Megalopolis.” Coppola delivered His friend and legendary colleague George Lucas (80), whom he referred to as his “little brother”. Palm tree should be Life’s work.

Baker dedicated her award to “all sex workers, past, present and future” and emphasized the importance of “making films that are released theatrically”. He said in his acceptance speech: “Watching a film with others at the cinema is a great communal experience. We share the experience of laughter, sadness, anger, fear and catharsis with friends and strangers. That’s why I say the future of cinema. That’s where it all started: in the cinema.”

die Payal Kapadia is an Indian filmmaker (38) took Grand Prix – the festival’s second highest award – for “All We Imagine As Light”. It is the first Indian film to be selected for the competition in 30 years. It centers on the relationships between three Mumbai women of different ages and social classes.

See also  David Colless is passionate about Styrian whisky

The price for it Excellent script A die French director Coralie Forget (48) “Brave, beautiful crazy” plastic surgery horror show “The Substance”, according to jury member Eva Green (43), which stars Demi Moore (61) as a Hollywood beauty and Margaret Qualley (29) as a younger, more perfect doppelganger.

Joint Award for Best Actress

Moore was considered the favorite in the division Best actress. However, the jury surprisingly widened this to one Combined priceTo celebrate what Lily Gladstone (37) did “Emilia Perez” Referred to as “Sisterhood Reconciliation”. Set in Mexico, the musical directed by former Palme d’Or winner Jacques Audiard (72) is about a cartel boss who disappears only to reappear as a woman. Four actresses were honoured. Zoe Saldana (45), Selena Gomez (31), Adriana Bass (44) and Carla Sophia Gascon (52) The Movie He won that too Jury prize.

Awarded as Best actor Jing is a Jesse Plemons (36), plays three roles in “Kinds of Kindness,” a surrealistic satire of “Poor Things” director Yorgos Lanthimos (50) — a dutiful businessman, a grieving police officer and a bisexual cult member.

Mohammed Rasulob Special Prize

The jury also created another one in 2024 Special price – It was greeted with enthusiastic applause on Saturday evening – The Iranian director Mohammad Rasoulof (52) For a long time it was not clear whether he would come to Cannes, but he attended the film festival despite personal risk. He fled Iran to avoid an eight-year prison sentence for filming the political drama “The Seed of the Sacred.” Pic”. The three-hour film explores the country’s recent women’s and freedom movement through a middle-class family whose two daughters question their father’s role in governance.

See also  Alarm at Pepco: Major recall campaign due to dangerous products - Vorarlberg -

The Portuguese filmmaker Miguel Gómez (52) succeeded Director Award For the “Grand Tour”. Mixing black and white and color photography, historical reenactments and contemporary anthropological insights, it tells the story of an early 20th century British civil servant. He tries to escape his fiancée by traveling from one Asian country to the next.

die Camera d’Or for that Great first film “Armand” went to des Norwegian Halfdan Ullman Tinder (Born 1990). Xiang Wei Liang and Yu Qiao Yin’s “Mongrel” got a special mention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *